fabricdanax.blogg.se

3 moa vs 6 moa for rifle
3 moa vs 6 moa for rifle





Although it's just my 2 cents - I think the mounting system for any red-dot scope is probably more important that the actual scope you choose. Waterproof Construction - O-ring sealed optics stay dry. At 100 yards, 3.4377 MOA equals 3.599 inches (3. A compact, sturdy, reliable 3 MOA red dot sight with unlimited eye relief for handguns and shotguns. That gun has two interchangeable barrels, a ported turkey barrel and a rifled slug tube, so I wanted/needed a receiver mount that holds relative zero when I change the barrel. There are 21,600 MOA in a circle, so a little quick division determines there are 3.4377 MOA per mil. MOA stands for Minute Of Angle, so this RDS would. I have mine mounted with a B-Square receiver mount and Burris rings, sitting atop an Ithaca 37 guide gun. This RDS has a 6 MOA dot, meaning that its a bit larger than most rifle optics that have a 2-3 MOA dot.

3 moa vs 6 moa for rifle

One other thing to keep in mind is the mount. I realized a few years ago that the entire head and neck of a mature gobbler fits inside the scope window at 20yards or less, so the actual size or shape of the reticle at that point is useless - just placing the head inside the window and squeezing the trigger = jellyhead. IMO, the 6MOA dot is too big, definitely for shots over 40 yards because it just covers too much of the vitals.Īdditionally, also recognize that if all of your shots are 30 yards or less, then dot size probably doesn't matter. The circle helps to quickly acquire the head, the dot then permits fine tuning for true target acquisition. Personally, I prefer the 3MOA dot inside the 65MOA circle for turkeys. I don't have another red-dot scope to compare it with, but I can attest that after 100's of rounds of 3# turkey loads and 3# 12ga sabots, and going through literal he77 in the field - the Bushnell still holds zero after almost 15 years. Easier for beginners to find the dot, if the red dot has no other dot modes.

3 moa vs 6 moa for rifle

I've found that I prefer the green most mornings, for me it's easier to acquire in those low light or thick brush hunts common to the way I typically hunts turkeys. I've used a Bushnell Trophy with 4 different reticles and both red and green lights.







3 moa vs 6 moa for rifle